HomeSite mapContact-us
Rue Notre-Dame West

Tour route Next section Previous section Back to Notre-Dame Est Boulevard Saint-Laurent Rue Notre-Dame West The Old Seminary and Notre-Dame Place d’Armes Rue Saint-Jacques Des Récollets Around Rue de l’Hôpital Rue Saint-Paul, near Place d’Youville Place d’Youville Western end of the Old Port Pointe-à-Callière and Place Royale Saint-Paul and de la Commune From Saint-Amable to Saint-Gabriel Place Jacques-Cartier Eastern end of the Old Bonsecours From Bonsecours to Berri Rue Notre-Dame East Champ-de-Mars
In the bourgeois centre  

Cuvillier-Ostell house

The Cuvillier-Ostell house, now integrated into a modern complex, still belonged to merchant Austin Cuvillier, one of the founders of the Bank of Montréal, when architect John Ostell modernized its façade in 1836. 
An 1840s building
An 1840s building,
with its cut stone, blind arcade and pitched gabled roof, also recalls a time when this was the bourgeois centre of the town. Businesses and homes still stood side by side.

Christ Church Cathedral

The first Christ Church Cathedral, here as viewed by James Duncan (1852), was destroyed by fire in 1856. 

When Mark Twain visited Montréal in 1881, he joked that there were so many churches, "you couldn't throw a brick without breaking a church window"! There were large numbers of both Protestant and Catholic churches in Montréal in those days. 

Showcase of the industrial city 

Rue Notre-Dame West

Top of page

| Home | Site map | Contact us |

Old Montréal

Credits. All rights reserved, 1998-2001.
Last updated: September 2001