HomeSite mapContact-us
Rue Notre-Dame West

Tour route Next section Previous section Back to Notre-Dame Est Boulevard Saint-Laurent Rue Notre-Dame West The Old Seminary and Notre-Dame Place d’Armes Rue Saint-Jacques Des Récollets Around Rue de l’Hôpital Rue Saint-Paul, near Place d’Youville Place d’Youville Western end of the Old Port Pointe-à-Callière and Place Royale Saint-Paul and de la Commune From Saint-Amable to Saint-Gabriel Place Jacques-Cartier Eastern end of the Old Bonsecours From Bonsecours to Berri Rue Notre-Dame East Champ-de-Mars
Showcase of the industrial city 

Commercial buildings
The Victorian town centre devoted to business reappears here, in a remarkable series of shops built between 1866 and 1870.

Cathedral Block
Across the street, the buildings of the Cathedral Block display fine stone framework. They were built starting in 1859 to replace Christ Church Cathedral, destroyed by fire.

After 1850, Rue Notre-Dame became a prestigious commercial artery as Montréal threw itself into full-scale industrialization. Customers flocked from all over the city to examine the latest products turned out by factories and displayed in ground-floor showrooms. Offices, finishing rooms and storage areas were located on the upper levels. 

Morgan’s, in 1875, at the corner of McGill and Saint-Jacques (since demolished). This exceptional shot illustrates the probable appearance of many stores on Rue Notre-Dame in those days. Note the wrought-iron columns. 

In the bourgeois centre 

Rue Notre-Dame West

Top of page

| Home | Site map | Contact us |

Old Montréal

Credits. All rights reserved, 1998-2001.
Last updated: September 2001